Kent Place School Graduates the Class of 2019

Faculty, trustees, and administrators marched in their academic regalia, and the juniors led the traditional Daisy Chain processional carrying ivy and flowers for the graduating class. Seniors then walked one by one through the daisy chain and were seated as a class for the final time as students.

The ceremony began with opening statements from Head of School Dr. Jennifer Galambos. Upper School History teacher Dr. Rashied McCreary delivered the faculty address. Seniors Kaira Brown and Jayla Creekmur delivered remarks on behalf of the class while Nikki Patel, outgoing senior class president, announced the senior class gift: a ping pong table.

The Citizenship Cup, which is presented to a member of the senior class, who during her years at Kent Place, has shown herself to be the outstanding example of student citizenship, was awarded to Keerthi Jayaraman. Considered one of the school’s highest honors, the Citizenship Cup is voted on by all Upper School faculty and students. The Montgomery Award, established in honor of former Headmaster Archibald “Tad” Montgomery and his wife Anita, given annually to an effective school leader who personifies the spirit that the Montgomery’s brought to the school, was presented to Andra Constantin.

Josie Daab, Colleen McAloon, and Catherine Torres were the recipients of the White Blazer Award. Given to students who have been three-sport athletes all four years of high school, the recipients of this award have demonstrated leadership and citizenship both on and off the field.

The Carol P. Dorian Prizes for Fine Arts and Dance were presented to the school in memory of Carol, an alumna from the Class of 1975, who died of cancer in 1987. The arts were one of her greatest loves while at Kent Place. The Carol P. Dorian Prize for Art was presented to Anna Hogarth. The Prize for Dance was awarded to Ethia Hu and Isabella Racioppi.

The Robert Pridham Drama Prize was awarded to two students: Jayla Creekmur and Nicole Pavese; and the music award, given to students who have distinguished themselves in the field was presented to Elynn Chang and Sofia Kwon.

Faculty member of the Kent Place Cum Laude Society chapter, John Walz officiated over the installation of new members. Inducted into the Cum Laude Society were seniors Gabrielle Emma Alpert, Charlotte Crutchlow, Nicole Leffler, Caroline Lubow, Michaela Markels, Colleen McAloon, Sofia Scotto, and Catherine Torres.

Juniors inducted were Catherine Gilhuley, Adithi Jayaraman, Eleanor Kanengiser, Grace Morris, Maggie Stanton, Alexandra Vieser, and Jessica Zeitsman.

Seniors Tarika Bansal, Andra Constantin, Anna Hogarth, Keerthi Jayaraman, Aynsley Kaufman, Alexandra Khidekel, Isabella Racioppi, and Jillian Sher were inducted into the Cum Laude Society as juniors.

The ceremony ended with remarks from Director of the Upper School Elizabeth Woodall.

The 78 members of the Class of 2019 are: Hannah Abere, Eleanor Alix, Gabby Alpert, Tarika Bansal, Katherine Barrasso, Caroline Benou, India Berry, Kaira Brown, Elynn Chang, Lizzy Chrin, Andra Constantin, Jayla Creekmur, Charlotte Crutchlow, Josie Daab, Stephanie Davidson, Maddie Deneberg, Erin DuCharme, Sam Endlich, Kelcie Engles, Abigail Evangelista, Sophia Fanelle, Emma Fischer, Skyler Ford, Lucy Friedland, Sarah Garde, Natalie Gemici, Natalie Gilfilan, Gillian Gogliormella, Anna Gomez, Sejal Gude, Emily Hanson, Grace Hillabrant, Lexi Hobbs, Madison Hobbs, Anna Hogarth, Ethia Hu, Keerthi Jayaraman, Laura Jeffries, Sarah Johnson, Disha Karale, Aynsley Kaufman, Sasha Khidekel, Sofia Kwon, Sarah Landriau, Jaida Larkin, Nicki Leffler, Lauren Lindner, Caroline Lubow, Michaela Markels, Colleen McAloon, Sarah McDowell, Aidan McGuire, Lexy McNair, Kiana McQuade, Gabrielle Narcisse, Isla Okkinga, Olivia Okunak, Olivia O’Sullivan, Nikki Patel, Grace Paul, Nicole Pavese, Lily Pence, Olivia Rabin, Isabella Racioppi, Katie Rebhun, Grace Reddington, Maggie Russell, Kailee Saunders, Sofia Scotto, Jilly Sher, Vlada Taits, Keertana Talla, Sofia Tartaglia, Catherine Torres, Gabie Vicens, Amber White, Maddie Zietsman, Grace Zong.

Please watch below or click here to enjoy a Commencement 2019 highlight video:

Kent Place School is an all-girls K through 12 independent college preparatory day school with a coeducational Preschool, located in Summit, NJ.