News Archive

Kent Place Eighth-Graders Celebrate the End of Their Middle School Careers

It was a day for celebrating as the eighth-grade ended their Middle School careers on Friday, June 7. Fifty-three young women processed in the annual ceremony; joined by faculty, family and friends in the Hyde and Watson Theatre.

The distinguished school awards bestowed during the ceremony were as follows:

The Montgomery Award is given annually to an effective school leader at the Middle School and at the Upper School level who personifies the spirit that Tad Montgomery, former Head of School, and his wife Anita Montgomery brought to Kent Place School. The award recognizes in the recipients “joyfulness, looking beyond one’s self, and accepting as part of life’s responsibility the care and love of other people.” This year, the Montgomery Award was presented to Courtney Crowder.

The Christine Clemens Leadership Award, named after Middle School History teacher Christine Clemens and given in recognition of a student who demonstrates positive leadership in her school and her community, was presented to Lizzy Washburn. The Community Service Award, given to Megan Szot, is awarded to students who demonstrate the hard work and dedication necessary for community service at Kent Place.

The School Life Award is given to the student(s) who exemplifies the Kent Place spirit. Through her exceptional involvement and generous participation in school life, this student has demonstrated the excellence of character and a unique dedication to the life of the school through significant contributions that have enhanced the middle school community. This year, the award was given to Astrid Burns.

The Eighth Grade Athletic Cup is awarded each year by the Athletic Department and Middle School coaching staff. The recipients of this award are dedicated both on- and off-the-field and show qualities of leadership and sportsmanship. The award this year was presented to Sophia Miller.

The Jane Patterson Science Award is given to a Kent Place Eighth Grade student who has maintained a high degree of interest and excellence in science throughout her years at the Kent Place Middle School. This award was established in memory of Mrs. Jane Patterson who was a beloved member of the science faculty at Kent Place School. This year’s award was presented to Nupur Ballal.

Kent Place is proud to congratulate the 53 members of the Class of 2023:
Olivia Adamczyk, Alexandra Anderson, Nupur Ballal, Annika Bhatia, Ellie Blundin, Astrid Burns, Sophia Chimenti, Sofie Cozine, Courtney Crowder, Bridget Daab, Molly Daab, Margo D’Angelo, Amanda DiTommaso, Izzy Embden, Kyra Gallagher, Tara Ghose, Samara Green, Alexandra Grushkin, Lindsay Hausman, Zoriana Horodysky, Arabella Hubbauer, Sydney Humes, Giordan Ismael, Sana Jaffrey, Lily Kaplan, Elina Kapur, Sofia Keri, Roshni Kopparapu, Kay Krag, Nora Lee, Cami Lienhardt, Ariel Lowe, Luna Markels, Noemi Sofia Martinez, Caroline McGinley, Sophia Miller, Madi Moore, Ava Nalavala, Vivi Ng, Catherine Paris, Seema Parmar, Malin Phelan, Cece Reali, Olivia Santoro, Sara Shee, Emily Shewchuk, Megan Szot, Ishani Wadhwa, Abby Wall, Lizzy Washburn, Annie Woodall, Kristine Yang, Serena Zheng

Congratulations and welcome to Upper School!
Kent Place School is an all-girls K through 12 independent college preparatory day school with a coeducational Preschool, located in Summit, NJ.