Skip To Main Content

Upcoming Events

Community Letter (June 2023)

END OF YEAR REPORT of DEIB Progress (June 2023)

Dear Kent Place Community,

On behalf of Kent Place Leadership and the Board, we are pleased to share this year’s annual update on Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging (DEIB) initiatives at Kent Place. The principles of DEIB are foundational to our mission to educate girls and young women for meaningful participation in a global community, and we are heartened by the ongoing work to ensure that Kent Place provides an affirming and inclusive environment where each member of our community feels safe and respected. 

Over the past year, the dedicated task forces at the Leadership, Board, and Alumnae levels have continued to lead and champion our DEIB efforts, and we have seen advancement of these initiatives at all levels of the school. This includes DEIB training for the Board for the third year in a row; unconscious bias training for everyone with hiring responsibility; and a comprehensive review and update of the school’s interpersonal misconduct protocols, policies, and procedures. 

Plans for next year include the continuation of our ongoing curriculum assessment to ensure that our pedagogy inspires learning through critical thinking and multiple perspectives, while celebrating diversity.

We would like to thank Arjun Murti P ’20, our outgoing Board DEIB Task force co-chair, for his guidance and commitment to this work over the past three years. Under Arjun’s leadership in particular, the Task Force has ensured that we are considering multiple perspectives in all our work and that we avoid the performative. Cláudia Hirawat P ‘26 will join Shané (Simmons) Harris ’92 as co-chair of the Board DEIB Task Force, and we look forward to working with her in this new role.

This important work would not be possible without the support and collaboration of the broader community, and we appreciate your engagement and commitment to ensuring that Kent Place is an inclusive and equitable environment for all members of our community. 
Yours for Kent Place,



Anne Grissinger P ’25
President, Board of Trustees    



Dr. Jennifer C. Galambos
Head of School



Shané (Simmons) Harris ’92
Co-Chair, Board Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging Task Force


Arjun Murti P '20
Co-Chair, Board Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging Task Force